So Obvious Now …

I had believed I was better,

Oh so much better,

But I failed to spot  -

All around me -

The sliding alliances,

The glances, small-significant words;

The quiet ironies, turning tides,

Altered smiles, sundowner trails

Of those giddy, head-turn days.

They drift and sing, so obvious now,

Across the years: those

Boundaries that know no wires.

Believed I was better,

So much better …

I was wrong.

One thought on “So Obvious Now …

  1. And you weren’t alone. :)

Leave a Reply

