The Midnight’s Gone Refrain

fox_snow_walk_look_branches_winter_40312_preview
In the heart of the
Too-tired-for-sleep hour,
Insistent but near-silent
Sioux beat echoes of the
Midnight’s Gone refrain
Reverberate inside my
Young witness skull.

Pausing, horizon capering vixen,
Abroad on appointed assassin duties –
Lifts radar raider muzzle to
The hunger constellations
As if sensing the vibrations
Through whisker tips,
Witch hat ears.

Murder bound, beneath this
Butcher button moon
And chicken-stealer sky.
She will never accept
Cold-season excuses,
Will not betray me;
I cannot condemn her.

3/1/2013

5 thoughts on “The Midnight’s Gone Refrain

  1. wisejourney says:

    Just read this once more… Very much like this….love the line : butcher button moon.

    • beeseeker says:

      Thank you very much; this poem almost wrote itself. I was watching a young fox (fairly regular visitor now) fromt he bedroom window … in the first -in-my-head – drafts I had butcher’s eye moon, but the alliteration and percussion of the b and b sounds is much more appropriate.
      Waiting to see what the little intruder does next.

  2. Reading this made me feel as though I was watching the fox with my own eyes. wow!

Leave a Reply

