Defiance of Gravity.

Fine, clean-finish feathered with
Fragments of pure, fine-day summer clouds,
These low wheeling winter-morn gulls
Might be created from the wishes of snow-flakes.

For half a thousand,
Unhurried, grace-filled wingbeats,
Undersides washed gorgeous
Pinks and lilac
By sun-rise disc-light
They re-live the memories,
The delights and joys
Of tumbling from Heaven,
Mastery of air, direction and
The defiance of gravity.

gulls

With precision, pattern and
Angel-bright dance,
With tip-wing twitch
And banking curves

As if the wind-sculpted
Drifts birth gliders, and
Launch their glorious dreams
At the skies.

15/1/2013

13 thoughts on “Defiance of Gravity.

  1. orbphotog says:

    I could re-quote many lines, but instead sail beyond in delight.

  2. Miriam E. says:

    “the wishes of snowflakes”… *sigh*
    beautifully done, such warmth in the midst of winter.

  3. It reminds me of that wonderful little book, Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Have you read it? Sue

    • beeseeker says:

      That’s a real compliment !
      yes – I read it many, many years ago….
      and now I am reading an autobiography of a pilot who is quoting that as one of his favourite, most inspirational books.

      • I wonder if it inspired him to fly!
        The only pilot whose books I have knowingly read was Antoine de St Exupèry. May I ask the name of your pilot? Sue

      • beeseeker says:

        Of course: but I am not sure how much it will mean to you as I do not know where you are 😀
        You should also know that I am struggling to find new books in the local library -and this is a “shot in the dark” choice.

        His name is Davd Morgan, who flew in what we Brits call the Falklands crisis back in the 1980s.

        he also cites Antoine de …. as an inspiration.

        Does that help ?

        Oh yeah – the book is called Hostile Skies

      • I’m British, too and old enough to remember the Falklands crisis! Are you enjoying the book? If so, I’ll recommend it to my hubby. Sue

      • beeseeker says:

        I am still reading it – which is something of a recommendation: cross between practical pilot-speak, emotions, light philosophy and the reality that is war!

  4. lgyslaine says:

    I like a lot atmosphere of your writing 🙂

  5. Wonderful. Like ‘angel-bright dance’….:)

    • beeseeker says:

      Funny how the “right words” will sometimes pop into your head – and sometimes refuse to – appreciate the comment, but this phrase just wrote itself while I was watching the birds.

Leave a Reply

