Sad Arrow

DSC_0267
Sad arrow rips
Feather fall from
Horizon-to-horizon-grey
Heavens; my heart is a
Lead-skin, slow drum.
Ghost-lit snow has
Settled on the stream:
Concealing all we
Thought we knew,
All we thought we had,
Or had dealt with;
No signs of the past –
The water under the
Monochrome bridge –
Of what we held to be
The future, so foolish-confident
It seems from here,
From now –
If it existed at all –
There is no sign.

Every winter-heavy step I take
Away from her is
A kiss, a caress
I will never feel.

It doesn’t always pay
To trust the truth
Or to doubt the trust.

18/1/013

3 thoughts on “Sad Arrow

  1. wisejourney says:

    It doesn’t always pay
    To trust the truth – –

    these words have got me thinking….
    trust
    truth …. v important to me and now you have made me think about them from a different angle…

  2. Maria D'Aleo says:

    love this “Every winter-heavy step I take
    Away from her is
    A kiss, a caress
    I will never feel.”
    I can understand… according to my experience…

Leave a Reply

