Hold the Future Closer.

Before colours could bleed their

Confidence-trick confusions

Into the new day

The wandering hidden people danced;

Danced to celebrate reaching

Season-border clapper bridge.

Dressed in sliver and grey motley they

Wove loose-limbed,

Long-step patterns around

Rippling pyres of tall, blue pale flames.

The world around lay fierce-choke quiet,

Holding a night-long breath:

Yet I felt the music:

Echo-ghost voices of deep-jet whales,

Ice-heart sibilant percussives,

Vibrations of undiscovered stars,

Chorus winds of dragon-banner conflict.

They shunned me not,

Showed gentle respect and,

Though I know I will not meet them again,

I no longer neither doubt not fear

Their presence here,

For they belong as much as we –

And I hold the future closer, tighter now.

21/2/2013

4 thoughts on “Hold the Future Closer.

  1. wisejourney says:

    what a special place that bridge must be. I think I saw it on a prog on the tele…

  2. John Stevens says:

    I know the bridge at Tarr Steps, although we’ve not been there for a long while, and was pleased to read of the reassembly of the stones after flooding. It makes a fine subject for a poem and I like your idea od incorporating the ‘hidden people’ – a great sense of the deep past.

  3. Anne says:

    Such a beautifully resonant poem – deserves publication and a much wider audience. Thank you very much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

