Because You Kept It

Feels like the frustrated fury of
Fifty thousand hearts
Fizzing, crackling and buzzing
Like acid hornets in the
Haunted, sulphur-walled  canyons
Of my ringing mind.
I am here, by
Longest days flame.
You are not, and
Echoes of all that street thunder
Going round in circles.
Your absence stings.
You were wise enough to know
It was time to finish
Long before I ever did;
But you said nothing,
Gave no sign,
And, while I hate you
For your silence
I also love you all the more
Because you kept it.

 

21/6/2013

12 thoughts on “Because You Kept It

  1. wisejourney says:

    deeply moving last few lines which we might all take heed of at certain times in our lives.

  2. Thought provoking and beautifully reflective

  3. Jo says:

    This really touched me, beautifully written.

  4. ramaink says:

    The first six lines are so alive! Crackling! I really like the tone of this poem. Its indulgently cross. Or so it seems to me.

    • beeseeker says:

      Thanks, these (first six) lines found their way into my head while I was at an outdoor concert. That anticipation before the band kicks off ??
      Pleased I could still remember them when the dust settled 🙂

      • ramaink says:

        Aaah..that explains the tension in the words…the adrenaline… 😀
        And I am so impressed (and glad) that you remembered them later! Half my stuff doesn’t get written because it flits into my brain when I am least prepared and flits right back out. Lol.

  5. This reminded me of Neruda~ “I like you when you’re silence.”

  6. vivid imagery. thought provoking write. strong pen captivating the reader. thank you!

  7. So many stories, emotions, words in silence. Can almost feel your thankfulness that nothing was said ….. love prolonged? Thank you so much for visiting poetrycottage.

Leave a Reply

