I Still Don’t Know

All-day long tiny percussive fists of

Persistent rain have pummelled, nagged,

Raised the best of marvellous memories:

Those that I thought I didn’t need,

That I believed I’d left behind.

Looking for relief, distraction;

Hoping for good news

I press the button –

Surprised when the

Wrong right-angels

Appear before me;

Unabashed, enthusiastic,

Wonderfully warm –

The umpteenth time this has happened

And I’m still tongue-tied,

Still don’t know

How to be dignified:

How to make the graceful exit.

2 thoughts on “I Still Don’t Know

  1. j.h. white says:

    wonderful…the turn and look back grinning works for some. Others really enjoy chocolate before the dash.

Leave a Reply

