The Very Opposite.

It is fair to say that I do not usually explain my poetry. I like to sit and wonder what the reader makes of my words which leave my mind, my pen (for pen, read computer)

meaning something to me but will, almost certainly mean something different – and why not? – to you, the reader.

I am happy with this as a situation: we can all be right, perhaps.

But this piece is posted here as a tribute to Nelson Mandela and was written on the Victoria and Alfred Docks, Capetown after a visit to Robben Island, where I learned such a lot about the history I have

lived through. It reminded me that opinions can change with knowledge; that the best people do not seek retribution.

It was intended as a thoughtful piece: I had a great deal to think over, not least the glorious sense of humour of the guide (a former in-mate). It was not written solely about Mandela, nor, indeed for public consumption.

DSC_0080

The Very Opposite

Delightful play of

Evening light ripples

On Africa harbour water;

DSC_0066

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reflections of

Freedom’s forgiving tides

Turning over:

Simultaneously

Bright and dark:

Determined to avoid bitter

Silence; to exact the very

Opposite of Vengeance.

2 thoughts on “The Very Opposite.

  1. Beautifully said, Beekeeper. Thank you for stopping by my space today and for the follow. I’m enjoying reading your nature writings!

Leave a Reply

