“What Will Your Verse Be?”

 

This  comes courtesy of blogger Dyan Diamond who posted this

http://wordpress.com/read/post/id/45100490/1504/

Being both curious and not a little inspired I had to look it up, first the wonderfully imaged advertisement, then the Walt Whitman poem which is voiced so perfect-well by Robin Williams.

So ,take a peek at the ad, remember I am not a great fan of I-pads (but shamelessly use one when it suits me!) and then read the original below.

Muse with me and as I did, whether it is better to have the images put before you – as is done so creatively in the ad – or to simply imagine your own.

I don’t even know what I think myself any more.

By Walt Whitman 1819–1892 Walt Whitman

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,
Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,
Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)
Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,
Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,
Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,
The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life?
                                       Answer.
That you are here—that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.
4 thoughts on ““What Will Your Verse Be?”

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    and if you had to write one verse (or two)
    about your life in this moment
    what would it be?
    I love that you shared this too…sometimes commercials are good…LOLs
    )0(

  2. I remember these very lines when I had to read them for my English Lit A Levels back in the day and then, as quoted by Robin Williams in the movie, “Dead Poets Society”. Gave me goose bumps then as they do now. As such my verse will be ~

    Our human connection is my addiction,
    A lesson in compassion
    Beauty in transcendence
    Sharing one more beautiful light
    Before we say good night
    Leaving nothing asunder.

    These are excerpts from my poem, “Our Human Connection”. It’ll be posted in the Poet’s Corner tomorrow 😉

Leave a Reply

