Humble Bumble Queen

Bombus distinguendus (Great Yellow Bumblebee)

Greeted by the

Humble Bumble Queen today

On my way to the Bronze-Rush Pool.

Long-sleep dizzied was she

But bombarded me with questions;

As has always been her way:

“What year is this?”

“What happened while I was away?”

I told her of my pleasure

In seeing her again,

That she had won through

The darkness and the floods.

She curtsied and bobbed

And shook herself down

In the catkin sunlight.

“Yes, yes, yes, She demurred,

But more important by far …” she began …

“What happened to you?

” I need to know who told you

It was time to stop shouting, singing

And when did you give up the dancing?

And why, oh why, did you

Pay any attention to them.”

5 thoughts on “Humble Bumble Queen

  1. JunkChuck says:

    Seems like I always find a pleasant piece of verse over here….

  2. Eddy Winko says:

    I don’t always understand, or maybe follow, but on the occasions that I visit it’s an happy hour.

Leave a Reply

