A Dark Grail

Playful, wilfully strong winds

That recently raked the long-dead, cold ash seas

Of January’s long-dark moon of passion

Snap open, draw out a banner I

Have only seen in dreamscapes:

A dark grail framed by shooting stars;

Now lift a jackdaw effortlessly

And fling it across the arcs

Of playground world and

New-opened, wide blue envelope.

There’s a harsh, savage-code joy scream

Torn from the bird’s bandit throat;

“You ain’t going to be born again,

Turn away from your second-chances illusion

And be all of the selves you need to be

Before your bright rainbow burns only

Slow, old gold-treasure memories.

Find the garden in the desert,

The music in the river,

The time beyond the clock.”

 

6 thoughts on “A Dark Grail

  1. Eddy Winko says:

    Now I know what the Jay shouts about, and who wouldn’t.

  2. annajanemark says:

    “You ain’t going to be born again,
    Turn away from your second-chances illusion
    And be all of the selves you need to be
    Before your bright rainbow burns only
    Slow, old gold-treasure memories.
    Find the garden in the desert,
    The music in the river,
    The time beyond the clock.”

    That is quite a crow! I suppose if “second-chances” are given to relationships or to places or to things, they may exist differently, not the same, not even with the same potentials (perhaps because of trust broken, or fear of being hurt, or just out of a need on one person’s part to remind the other of a previous wrong, or mistake, to remind the other that it is not forgotten, but remembered through reticence, a kind of punishment, or implied point to be taken, complex things), but I will always believe that “second-chances” hold out the possibility for more, not less, depth. For more, and not less, understanding and compassion, and for newness in relationships. But it is not easy to do…is it? And it is true, I think, that what may feel like a desert (the place without the love or friendship we desire) is really a garden.

    I’ve been trying hard to understand this one!

    • beeseeker says:

      What truly wonderful feedback, for which I am both grateful and flattered.
      The contexts/possible influences/circumstances of the poem’s conception were:
      1. A very windy day and me noticing a jackdaw (intelligently curious birds as a species!) launching itself off an empty school playground,
      2. the phrase “dark grail” I read in a bo0k (perhaps H is for Hawk, Helen MacDonald) that rattled inside my brain
      3. A documentary on TV of the one time Led Zeppelin* singer Robert Plant who has refused to go back to reform any version of Led Zep because he wants to try out other things… one of which was visiting an oasis in the African desert.
      * Please note: not my favourite band, though I do like a few of their pieces (Rock ‘n’ Roll, Kashmir).
      This is in no way meant to explain the meaning of the piece, but, if you understand where the “ingredients” come from it might help; although to be honest once I have written and published a poem I see new/different meanings in it – that I had never realised were there.

  3. Poetic says:

    Wow, Im serioisly speechless Deb!! I dont think I had ever read your poetry before, I just remember your great photos. I hope you keep at the poetry writing, you have real talent!! 🙂

  4. Poetic says:

    Hahaha forgive me my friend, im a bit rusty with WP these days so Disregard my previous comment as it was meant for another blog!
    This is, however, outstanding! The things you do with words makes me question what the heck im doing with them! again, my apologies for the mix up.

Leave a Reply

