None of Them

Picture me –

Amid this turn-taking

Game of random leaders:

Faithless ivory-faced kings,

Holy-roller board extremists,

Sword-wielders in minute-man keeps –

Balancing , desperately on the edge

Of a dangerously spinning wheel,

Waiting for somebody, anybody –

Even the one-eyed queen of reds –

To draw the sanity-humanity card.

But once again, and everywhere I look,

There are only jokers, brokers,

Trapped, frustrated pawns and

 Grim-black suits that hunt in packs. 

Luck may wear six faces:

But none of them is mine.

5 thoughts on “None of Them

  1. Eddy Winko says:

    You captured the moment with this one. I wonder if the recently declared election got you going?

    • beeseeker says:

      Well yes, but there was also a BBC Radio 4 programme about board games (called Do Pass Go).
      Maybe you can find it on the internet: fascinating (to me at least).
      Glad you liked the piece, hope everything is OK with you (still in Poland?)

      • Eddy Winko says:

        On my play list for the day, looks interesting, thank you. I don’t know what I would do without radio 4 (and 6) in Poland 🙂

      • Eddy Winko says:

        I can see the chess board coming out! Interesting theories discussed, had me nodding in realisation at some of the points made.

      • beeseeker says:

        so, now you – maybe – see where some of the “pieces” of my poem came from ?
        Enjoyed the gaming is human concept and the new games still being developed sections.

Leave a Reply

