A One Shoe Pony

Windswept, hungry, choked and blue,

Headin’ for home with a one-shoe pony –

Both of us more about shadow ‘n’ hope

Than muscle and soul –

Limping along the briar’d banks

Between ancient railway-becoming-fossil

And another sunset-mirror lake,

The flood-disturbed surface of which shows

The realities of the world far better

Than my poor eyes do. But

Black thorn and black-light

Defeat my vision as the

Skies bleed their life’s last

Into the water.

I really don’t know

What I don’t know any more:

Just that I’m tryin’

To get back to you.

8 thoughts on “A One Shoe Pony

  1. Chatty Owl says:

    How poignant. I love the title too! A lot.

  2. beeseeker says:

    A one-hour walk and some reflection: a little bit different for me – I think. Appreciate your feedback.
    The one-shoe pony started off as a limping horse, but needed the extra pathos for drama.

  3. I love those last four lines. So simple yet powerful and emotive

    • beeseeker says:

      Sitting in a train carriage with a party (not sure if that’s the correct collective noun) of accountants and the buzz-phrase they seemed to use (as I eavesdropped) was
      “At least we now know what we don’t know.” and they would snigger at the comment.
      But what if you didn’t …?
      Thanks for the feed back, always appreciated.

  4. atkokosplace says:

    WOW! Very thought provoking. I really liked this piece.

  5. really liking the change of pace in this poem brother,
    especially this imagery;
    ‘Black thorn and black-light
    Defeat my vision as the
    Skies bleed their life’s last
    Into the water.’

Leave a comment